Tags

, , , , , ,

I am mended by my sickness, enriched by my poverty, and strengthened by my weakness.
Abraham Wright

If my sickness causes me to see the caring that my family gives me and makes me appreciate them more, then, whatever ills I may have…illness of spirit, or just feeling down, is lessened and am uplifted. If my poverty makes me realize that being financially wealthy doesn’t necessarily make one happy and secure. If my poverty makes me appreciate the simpler things in life, then I am enriched. I remember a passage from Og Mandino’s The God Memorandum:

…remember the lessons learned in poverty, for he is not poor he who has little, only he that desires much. True security comes not from the things one has, only in things one can do without.

If we are not controlled by greed, then we will only seek what we need.  If in my weakness, I humble myself before God and admit to Him that I cannot do everything alone, and that I need help.  And, in God’s mercy, He comes to my aid, then I am strengthened by His grace;  what do I have to fear? Faith will provide the strength when we need it.  I agree with what Dorothy Bernard said, “Courage is fear that has said its prayers“.

