Tags

, , , , , , , ,

We are all inventors, each sailing out on a voyage of discovery, guided each by a private chart, of which there is no duplicate. The world is all gates, all opportunities.
— Ralph Waldo Emerson

For those who dare to venture into the unknown. Seeking new worlds, new things, new roads, new experiences, new challneges, new knowledge…without which we would still be living in caves. We’re not only thinking of those great explorers like Ferdinand Magellan, Christopher Columbus, Marco Polo, Yuri Gagarin, John Glenn, Neil Armstrong, Buzz Aldrin, etc; nor great inventors like Leonardo Da Vinci or Thomas Edison.

Rather, we are talking about all of us who dare to venture into uncharted waters…a new job, learning to drive, learning to play a guitar, getting a loan for a car, getting into a relationship, getting married, applying for a housing loan, migrating to a foreign land, and on and on. Anything that demands that we get our of our comfort zone, or probing unfamiliar grounds. Without mustering the courage to try, how can we know what our limitations are? How can we achieve our full potential if not for trying the untried?

One of my favorite songs, “Faith of the Heart” (first sung by Rod Stewart for the soundtrack of the movie “Patch Adams”, and later sung by Russell Watson for the opening credits of the sci-fi TV series “Enterprise NX-01”), speaks of that courage.  Let me share with you the lyrics of the song so that you’ll understand:

It’s been a long road, getting from there to here
It’s been a long time, but my time is fin’lly near
And I can feel the change in the wind right now
Nothing’s in my way
And they’re not gonna hold me down no more
No they’re not gonna hold me down

Chorus:

Cause I’ve got faith of the heart,
Going where my heart will take me,
I’ve got faith to believe…I can do anything.

I’ve got strenth of the soul,
And no one’s gonna bend or break me,
I can reach any star…I’ve got faith,
I’ve got faith, faith of the heart.

It’s been a long night, trying to find my way
(And) through the darkness, now I’ve fin’lly had my day
And I will see my dreams come alive at last
I will touch the sky
And they’re not gonna hold me down no more
No they’re not gonna change my mind

(Repeat Chorus)

Bridge:

I’ve known the wind so cold, I’ve seen the darkest days
But now the winds I feel are only winds of change
I’ve been through the fire, I’ve been through the rain
But I’ll be flyin’, oh yeah

(Repeat Chorus)

Coda: It’s been a long road…

 

